At Trefriw Woollen Mills we manufacture traditional Welsh bedspreads, tweeds and travelling rugs. Our Welsh tapestry is made into cushions, dinner sets, shoulder bags and purses. Our tweed is tailored into hats, caps, jackets, skirts, ruanas and capes.
The Mill Shop
Visitors to our mill shop can buy our own products as well as a wide range of pure wool knitwear and accessories from the British Isles and further afield.
We source beautiful and unusual items, many of which are not available locally. If you can't make it to the shop we can provide a mail order service for our most popular products.
As well as looking round the shop, visitors to the mill can view the hydro-electric turbines and the Dobcross looms to see traditional Welsh weaving in action and enjoy a cup of tea and a slice of bara brith in our tearoom.
History Of The Mill
Trefriw Woollen Mills is one of the few remaining mills of what was once an important Welsh industry. Originally a Pandy (fulling mill), it was situated on the fast running River Crafnant in order to use the water to drive the waterwheels and to wash the wool.
The mill had been operating for over 30 years when it was bought by Thomas Williams in 1859. It is still owned and run by the same family.
Last Updated: 28 Apr 2015