Laxfield area guide - Suffolk
Laxfield is a lovely traditional market village steeped with history dating back to the Saxons.
Due to the knowledge of an early settlement and church it is believed Laxfield was born during the Saxon period. It is also recorded the village was given a charter to hold a Saturday market as early as 1226. Today stands The All Saints Church which is largely of 14th century construction and was essentially completed by 1488.
Today Laxfield is a traditional village and as well as the Church it has other local amenities such as a garage, a village shop (currently run by the Co-Op) and a Primary school. It has a couple of Public Houses - the Royal Oak Pub and the Kings Head Pub (known as the low house). In the heart of the village there is a small museum which is housed in the C16 Guildhall.
The village and the surrounding area, like much of East Anglia, was a hot bed of Puritan sentiment during much of the 17th century. Being the birthplace of the infamously intolerant William Dowsing, as well as the home of many of his kin, it was natural enough that Laxfield became a puritan parish, and by the mid 1630s, the Fiske family and others like them had departed for the Massachusetts Bay Colony as part of the wave of emigration that occurred during the Great Migration.
Laxfield has one of the biggest communal playing fields in Suffolk, at almost eight acres. It boasts a large children's play area & bowls green and with plenty of space to set up camp with a picnic and allow the children to run off some energy it is a perfect way to spend a lazy summers day.
Laxfield and district museum – Housed in C16 Guildhall. Agriculture, geology, natural history. Cottage kitchen, village shop, costumes. Open May-Sept W/Es & BHs 2-5 Free 01986 798026
Last Updated: 28 Apr 2015