Lamberhurst Tourist Guide
Lamberhurst is a village in Kent although the parish was in both Kent and East Sussex at one point.
Until 1894 the Kent and East Sussex boundary ran through the village, when a decision was made that the village must belong to either one county or the other. As hop growing was the main industry at that time, and hops in Kent were getting a better price than in Sussex, Lamberhurst became part of Kent.
Lamberhurst is located in the stunning Teise valley. The river Teise is one of the main tributaries of the River Medway. Part of that river valley has been flooded and the result was Bewl Water. The village sits in the smoothly rolling downland at the north western edge of the charming Bewl Water. Surrounded by orchards, hop gardens and a vineyard, the village and its manors are a perfect country setting. Also nearby are the ruins of Bayham Abbey and National Trust attraction Scotney Castle.
Lamberhurst is found about 10 miles to the East of Royal Tunbridge Wells on the busy A21, the main London to Hastings road. The village has been lately bypassed by the A21 trunk road, which used to run through the village. This decision caused some disagreement due to its location in the High Weald Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The closest railway station is Frant railway station which is located in the hamlet of Bells Yew Green.
The first record of Lamberhurst is in Saxon times during 998 when the church was consecrated, but this was probably a wooden structure. The current church was started in the 14th century, and the tower in the 15th century. In the churchyard can be seen several of examples of the terracotta grave plaques by Heathfield stonemason Jonathan Harmer.
The village was an important centre of the Wealden iron industry which had been set up during Roman times and was later a main coaching stop on the long ride from London to Hastings.
Scotney Castle lies on the south east side of the village. It was built in the 14th century by Rodger de Ashburnham and it features a lovely round tower, the ruins of a Tudor house, and is surrounded by a moat filled with water lilies.
On the western edge of Lamberhurst is ‘The Owl House’. Built in the 16th century it is tile hung and half-timbered. It was so named because of its link with wool smugglers, known in those days as owlers . It has beautiful gardens which include rhododendrons, azaleas and rare shrubs, and is open to the public.
Thomas Hussey bought Lamberhurst furnace known as Gloucester Forge - named after a visit by the Duke of Gloucester. The forge became one of the most famous Wealden ironworks, being the main contractor for supplying railings for St Paul’s Cathedral. In 1976 the Dean and Chapter of St Paul’s returned part of the railing to be preserved in the village by the Village Hall.
In 1837 - 1843 a new house was built in the grounds of Scotney Castle by Edward Hussey, using stone quarried there. He also laid out the gardens and used the quarried area to fashion a appealing Alpine-style garden.
Other nearby attractions are Bayham Abbey one of the most complete monastic ruins in the South of England, and Bewl Bridge Reservoir which now hosts sailing, fishing and many other activities.
Visit the charming Lamberhurst Vineyard, at The Down, in the Kent countryside - only 15 minutes south of Royal Tunbridge Wells. The Vineyard Shop is stocked full of the award winning 'Chapel Down', 'Curious Grape' and the new 'Lamberhurst Estate' wines together with a wide range of local cheese, ham, pickles, chutneys and preserves. Free tastings of both wine and some of food lines are offered all year round. Friendly, informative staff are on hand to offer free wine tastings and advise you on the best wines for your palate or the perfect gift to take home with you. Take a trail around the vineyards and stop to take pleasure in the views across to Bayham Abbey, Lamberhurst village and beyond. The facilities at Lamberhurst Vineyard are exceptional, our Bistro serves simple and traditional dishes from a hearty breakfast to tasty light lunches or you can just have tea or coffee at any time of day! Open 7 days a week from 10am - 5pm. Tel: +44 01892 890412.
Lamberhurst Golf Club offers its visitors and members the experience of a challenging golf course, relaxing clubhouse facilities and a warm welcome.
Inaugurated in 1890, LGC boasts an 18-hole course (in part designed by Frank Pennink) of 6,423 yards - Par 72; SSS 71 - running through parkland of outstanding beauty on both sides of the River Teise.
You could also try windsurfing at Bewl Water.
Disclaimer: The information in this Tourist Guide has been researched from a variety of sources including books, articles and online information. While every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of the information the reader should check any specific facts for themselves before making any decisions based upon the said information.
Last Updated: 28 Apr 2015