Betws y Coed guide
Betws-y-Coed Tourist Guide
Betws-y-Coed (pronounced Betoos-ur-koyd) is a pretty village in the Conwy valley in the county borough of Conwy, North Wales and is a real honey pot for tourists. Its position in the centre of North Wales makes it the perfect base from which to explore all of the Snowdonia National Park and the many attractions of the area. It lies within the Snowdonia National Park where the River Conwy is met by the River Llugwy and Lledr.
Originally just a monastery, Betws-y-Coed began life in 6th Century, and slowly took shape thanks to the development of the lead mining industry.
The Waterloo Bridge was built by Thomas Telford in 1815 to carry A5 road across the River Conwy and through the village brought considerable transport-related development. The village became a major coaching centre between Corwen (to the east) and Capel Curig (to the west) on the Irish Mail route from London to Holyhead, which led to the improvement of the roads south to Blaenau Ffestiniog and north to Llanrwst and Conwy.
The construction of Betws-y-Coed railway station in 1868, heralding the arrival of the railway line from Llandudno Junction railway station
The Village Today
There is a large village green which is bounded on its western side by the A5 Trunk Road with 19th Century buildings including shops, hotels, and the parish church of St. Marys (look out for performances by Welsh choirs on summer Sunday evenings). This church was built on the site of a former cockpit and fairground, and it was completed as recently as 1873.
On the southern side of the green is Betws-y-Coed railway station with cafes and tourist shops and a huge car park. In the former railway goods yard, reached from the station, is the Conwy Valley Railway Museum with its extensive miniature railway. The village also has a motor museum with a collection of vintage automobiles.
Other attractions in the village include the Miners' Bridge and the 14th Century church of St. Michael, one of the oldest in Wales, which is the origin of the name Betws (meaning "prayer-house"). There are scenic walks beside the river Llugwy, which flows through the village, and the River Conwy provides further attractions including the Fairy Glen, the Conwy Fish pass and waterfalls including the Conwy Falls. The Pont-y-Pair Falls are in the centre of the village, and nearby are the famous Swallow Falls.
The picturesque Llyn Elsi, which lies above the village, is popular with walkers and anglers, and also provides water for the village.
The village is also a centre for outdoor activities and lies within the Gwydyr Forest.
There is plenty of accommodation in Betws-y Coed to appeal to all types, from Hotels, North Wales B&Bs and Cottages in North Wales to that of Campsites, Caravan Parks and Youth Hostels.
Tourist Information Centre
Snowdonia National Park Information Centre,
Royal Oak Stables, Betws y Coed,
Conwy. LL24 0AH
Telephone: 01690 710426
Fax: 01690 710665
Easter to October - daily 9.30 - 5.30
Winter - daily 9.30 - 4.30
Last Updated: 28 Apr 2015